The Encephalitis Society is proud to offer three annual awards/prizes for our valued professional members.

The 2017 competitions are now open and, in the case of our student awards, we are delighted to announce that they are now also open to medical students, junior doctors and early research fellows outside of the UK.

Please become a Professional Member of the Encephalitis Society.  Membership is free and can be completed online.

If you would like any more information please get in touch on [email protected]

The Johnny Sutton Travel Bursary 2017/18

Now open to junior doctors and research fellows  in the UK and OUTSIDE the UK.

Prize: £500

The Encephalitis Society would like to invite junior doctors and early research fellows (up to 10 years post-PhD) interested in encephalitis to apply for the 2017/18 Travel Bursary.

The bursary can be used to present a project on encephalitis at a conference, or elective travel, or to visit a laboratory, research, clinical or other group working on encephalitis, if it supports some aspect of the doctor/fellow’s work in this area.

Submission deadline: November 1, 2017

Full Information (Pdf)

For more information email [email protected] 

Medical Student Essay Prize

Now open to students in the UK and OUTSIDE the UK.

Winner Prize: £500

Runner-up Prize: £250

A prize of £500 will be awarded for the best medical student essay on any aspect of encephalitis, which is an original piece of work, thought-provoking, comprehensible to a lay audience, and appropriate for publication on the Encephalitis Society website.  If there are sufficient quality submissions a runner-up prize of £250 will also be awarded. The winner and runner-up will be announced at the Society’s Professional Seminar meeting on the 4th December 2017, in London.

Submission deadline: October 1, 2017

Full information (PDF)

For more information email [email protected] 

Excellence in Encephalitis Healthcare 2017

The awards are in recognition of the exceptional service given by individuals and organisations within our medical health and research establishments, whose contribution(s) really have made a difference to those affected by encephalitis. 

There are six different categories: 

  • Clinician or Nurse Practitioner 
  • Patient & Public Engagement 
  • Researcher 
  • General Practice & Primary Care
  • Professional Allied Medicine
  • Rehabilitation Team

Nominations can only be made by professionals within the fields of health and research. International nominations are welcome.

The deadline for entries is September 30, 2017

Nomination Form (Word Doc) (PDF)

Entries will be judged by the Senior Management Team and Board of Trustees of the Encephalitis Society.

For more information, email [email protected] or call +44(0)1653 692583.

All nomination forms should be returned FREEPOST to The Encephalitis Society, 32 Castlegate, Malton, YO17 7DT or [email protected]